SC Governor's Cup Billfishing Series Advisory Board of Directors Meeting Thursday, September 21, 2017, 10:00 AM Administration Building Conference Room (3rd Floor) Marine Resources Center, Charleston, SC

<u>GCAB Members Present</u>: Chairman Leasure, T. Hancock, W. Morris, S. Holder, F. Bergen, S. Mungo, J. Hill, N. Pulliam, R. Stevens (ex officio), and J. Reed

GCAB Members Absent: C. Jennings, H. Johnson, D. Sykes, B Roof, H. Edwards

DNR Staff Present: R. Boyles, W. Jenkins, A. Dukes, K. Rudnay

Guests: B. Garmany

Call Meeting to Order & Approval of Minutes: Chairman Rogers

Chairman Leasure called the meeting to order. He asked if there were any changes to be made to the previous meeting (February 9, 2017) minutes. F. Bergen made a motion to approve as presented, T. Hancock 2nd. Motion passed unanimously.

Public Comment: Chairman Rogers:

N/A

Deputy Director's Comments: R. Boyles

R. Boyles welcomed new AB member John Hill and Steve Mungo to their first meeting. He also thanked Ray Stevens for his long-term service to the SC Department of Parks, Recreation & Tourism. Stevens is retiring in September, and R. Boyles went on to welcome J. Ives, who will be replacing Stevens on the Advisory Board of Directors. Lastly, R. Boyles welcomed S. Leasure as the new Chairman to the Board and said that he is looking forward to working with him.

Old Business: W. Jenkins

W. Jenkins gave a quick overview of the fundraising efforts for the Highway 41 Bridge Project. Efforts are still shy of the \$120,000 needed to complete the project, which is due to Stevens Towing at the project's completion. A motion was made by T. Hancock to approve shifting Governor's Cup funds up to \$10,000 to the SCMR account to complete the reef project. S. Mungo 2nd, motion passed unanimously.

New Business: W. Jenkins

- A. Approval of 2017 winners: A. Dukes reviewed the 2017 Series winners, which were previously reviewed and approved by the TC, and sent to the AB for final approval. A motion was made by J. Hill to approve the winners as presented by staff. S. Mungo 2nd. Motion passed unanimously.
 - Discussions continued with respect to Series special recognition awards. The purpose and past recipients for the Carroll A. Campbell Award was reviewed by Wally. Chairman Leasure stressed the importance of this award continuing. A motion was made by S. Mungo to nominate and approve Jim Johnston for this award. B. Morris 2nd, motion passed unanimously.
 - 2. A. Dukes reviewed and discussed the five nominations for the Mate of the Year award. A motion was made by F. Bergen to nominate

and approve Douglas Miller as the 2017 Mate of the Year. S. Mungo 2^{nd} , motion passed unanimously.

- 3. A. Dukes requested that the AB consider a special recognition award for Stevens Towing for their efforts and contributions toward blue water conservation. A motion was made by Chairman Leasure to nominate and approve a special recognition award to be given to Stevens Towing. J. Hill 2nd, motion passed unanimously.
- B. Carolinas Shootout recognition elimination: A. Dukes discussed the absence of the Carolinas Shootout for nearly a decade, and that requested that the AB eliminate the recognition of these teams. The decision was made that these recognitions be eliminated with the option to reinstate these in the future.
- C. Date and time for next meeting: Staff were to distribute a Doodle Poll to determine the best possible date for the next AB meeting. F. Bergen suggested that these meetings be on Fridays and scheduled a year in advance. Two preferred dates for the next meeting are November 10th or 17th.

Adjournment: Chairman Leasure

Chairman Leasure asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. S. Mungo made a motion to adjourn the meeting, J. Hill 2nd. Meeting adjourned 10:55 am.